What is the IB Diploma?

The International Baccalaureate Diploma is a two year, pre-university Diploma for senior college students, designed and administered by the International Baccalaureate Office (IBO) in Geneva and examined by the International Baccalaureate of Curriculum and Assessment (IBCA) in Cardiff, Wales.

The IBO was founded in the 1968 and evolved from an international effort by some schools, particularly international schools, to establish a common curriculum and university entry credential for geographically mobile students. It offers a continuum of high quality education that encourages international mindedness and a positive approach to education. The IB Diploma now has worldwide acceptance and is held in high esteem throughout the world. Today the IBO has 850,000 students in 3,000 participating IB world schools in more than 145 countries around the world.

Requirements of Students Studying the Diploma

The Diploma has six academic areas or subject groups surrounding a core of Diploma requirements. Students study a subject from each of the groups and this is balanced with the involvement of three other programmes: Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge (TOK) and Creativity, Action and Service (CAS).

To be eligible for the Diploma, students are required to:

IB Requirements 1
IB Requirements